top of page
Search
  • Kaylee Poloczek

The edit

Updated: Feb 15, 2019



Footage in the bank, the editing process has well and truly begun.



My biggest issue at the moment is conflicting ideas. I knew when I began this project that I was speaking to Maureen and Veronica. Two women, although now good friends, were on opposite sides of a rivalry. Maureen was friends with the Kray twins, and during my visits and the interview made it clear what she thought of the Richardsons. Equally Veronica had strong feelings about the Krays and discussed them at length.


The difficulty is to step aside from the rivalry and the conflicting opinions and focus on what I am interested in...the relationships with the women in their lives.


I don't want to get bogged down with he did this and he did that and he was 'harder' than him because that isn't important to the topic. This is particularly difficult when people you have interviewed have such strong feelings and bias.


I'm also learning to be more ruthless. So much of what my interviewees are saying is interesting, it's hard to cut it down to the essential bits to the story and not feel awful about removing bits.


I still have a quite long time to edit the piece together so hopefully with the time I have I can work it out. I've also written down a clear structure of what it is I'm trying to say and achieve from the 10 minutes. So, if in doubt, I can return to it and keep on track.

61 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page