top of page
Search
  • Kaylee Poloczek

The birth of a project...

Updated: Feb 15, 2019

We have the go-ahead!!!


After a successful project proposal the idea formed in the car on the way to Southend has been signed off.


I had this idea in the car you see. For my third year on my Multimedia Journalism course I need to produce a final project as part of one of the modules. It's infamous on the course as it's a big thing to make. The choices are a TV documentary of 10 minutes, a radio documentary of 20 minutes or 36 page magazine. I did magazines last year for a project and HATED IT, and I do ever so much radio that I decided to give telly a go.


So, driving to Southend I was telling Dad I needed to make something and it needed to be brilliant. I explained what I had to make and how (the man still thinks colour TV is modern so it wasn't easy).


Dad mentioned that he knew someone who might be able to help me, if I wanted. His friend Veronica Richardson offered to help me in any way she could with regards to my course.


Veronica was married to Charlie Richardson. Charlie has a serious reputation of being an 'East end gangster' and rival to the Kray twins. At the minute crime is one of the most popular Netflix categories and substantial things are happening in the world of women. the MeToo movement sparked something and there are questions in the air about the place, rights and lives of women.


As a woman, I've always been interested in relationships between women and men with reputations like Charlie's or the Kray's. So, for the rest of the hour journey Dad and I discussed it through and worked out how I could do it, developing the idea every mile.


The idea had legs. I just had to prove it to my lecturers (the hard bit). Well, after a 10 minute presentation which took weeks to prepare, some facts and statistics, they said YES!


Now all I need to do is make it by February.... maybe this is the hard bit.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page